Dorothy Norwood

Stand On The Word


Affectionately known as "The World's Greatest Storyteller," Dorothy Norwood's soulful vocals and uplifting delivery have made her a trailblazing pioneer and living legend of modern Gospel music. In her 36+ year career, Norwood has delivered 40 albums, five of which have been certified Gold and has garnered several Grammy nominations as well as various Stellar Award nominations.Read More

Track Listing:
  • 1. Praise In The Temple (It's Service Time) 
  • 2. Stand On The Word  
  • 3. Stand On The Word (Part II) 
  • 4. Heaven's Door  
  • 5. God Is Our Creator  
  • 6. Holy Spirit  
  • 7. One Prayer Away  
  • 8. Trust Him  
  • 9. In The Presence Of The Lord  
  • 10. Old School Blvd.  
  • 11. Old School Blvd. (Part II) 
  • 12. God's Delay Is Not A Deny 
  • 13. I Still Have A Song To Sing  
  • 14. He Promised Me  

She continues to share her conviction through music with the release of her album "Stand On The Word." This 13 track collection was recorded "live" in Birmingham, Alabama, and is quite possibly the greatest of all of Norwood's illustrious discography.
Her previous 2002 release, "Live At Home" was honored with a 2003 Grammy nomination, GMWA Excellance Award nomination and multiple 2004 Stellar Award nominations.
Norwood has been singing most of her life. At the age of eight, she toured and performed with a family group. A move to Chicago in 1956, found her singing with Mahalia Jackson, The Caravans and Reverend James Cleveland. She launched her solo career in 1964, and was a hit from the start. Her first solo album, "Johnny and Jesus," earned her first Gold Record Award and her second, "Denied Mother," did equally as well. In 1972, Mick Jagger and The Rolling Stones invited her to do a 30 state American tour which allowed her to spread the Gospel in a mission field that was virtually closed to artists of this genre.
Evangelist Norwood signed with Malaco Records in February, 1991, and recorded "Live" with the Northern California GMWA Mass Choir. It was an immediate hit, reaching the #1 position on Billboard's Top Forty after only seven weeks. Her second project, "Better Days Ahead," earned both Stellar Award and Grammy nominations. Every album released since, has been nothing short of miraculous, propelling her further into the ranks of greatness. "Stand On The Word" promises to be just as strong, if not stronger, and is absolute essential addition to Gospel collections nationwide.

Click here to follow us on Twitter
Click here to follow us on Facebook

Southern Soul Radio

Malaco Gospel Radio