Shirley Brown

Woman Enough


R&B/Soul verteran Shirley Brown returns with the aptly titled album "Woman Enough" on Malaco Records. Shirely is best remembered for her highly acclaimed million seller - Grammy nominated "Woman To Woman." This hit topped the R&B charts for weeks and introduced the world to her soulful sound that moves fans through a wide range of emotions from song to song.Read More

Track Listing:
  • 1. Poon Tang Man  
  • 2. Think Again
  • 3. My Heart Can't Take Another Break
  • 4. (I'd Have To Be) Stuck On Stupid  
  • 5. Too Much Candy  
  • 6. I'm So Fed Up
  • 7. (I've Got To) Sleep With One Eye Open  
  • 8. Hook, Line & Sinker
  • 9. Woman Enough! (Why Can't You Be Man Enough)
  • 10. It's Best We Say Goodbye
  • 11. Ms. Lizzie's Daughter

This songstress has managed to survive the changes and fads of the ever changing and competitive music industry. Shirley began her career in 1974 with Stax Records where she delivered the above mentioned "Woman To Woman." One year later, Stax folded and a bemused Brown searched for another label. In 1977, Brown fround Arista Records where she stayed until 1979.
In 1989, she found her home at Malaco Records and it has been a winning combination for over a decade. The secret to Shirley's success is her almost operatically big voice. She describes her voice as "music from the heart." If given the chance, one must witness Shirley Brown at a live performance. She carries an uncanny ability to move audiences through a range of emotions throughout the show, always leaving them wanting more.
Brown stated that one day a reporter asked her "When will the Diva of Soul ever slow down?" Shirley, without hesitating, answered, "Honey, tell 'em I am just getting started!" She has recorded six albums since coming to Malaco and proves that she has no intention of slowing down any time soon with the release of this collection. Brown continuously performs throughout the south and still maintains a strong and growing fan base of all ages.

Click here to follow us on Facebook
Click here to read the Malaco Blog

Southern Soul Radio

Malaco Gospel Radio